Whirlwind Weekend in Los Angeles

Two weekends ago, I had a last minute trip to Los Angeles. I realized that it’s been over a year since I’ve been to LA (seems like a travesty). It was over 70 degrees in DECEMBER and I saw more people wearing flip-flops that weekend than I have seen my entire year in San Francisco. It was ridiculous. I do miss LA weather.

Luckily, I was still able to squeeze in delicious eating. And, I finally got to meet Larinna from iheartspandex (side note: if you’re into fitness, you should totally check out her awesome blog) and share a lovely meal with her twin sister, Rhiannon.

Rather than write out full reviews, I’m going to just highlight the extra delicious parts.

Bottega Louie

Panzanella Salad

Panzanella Salad

Tagliatelle Bolognese

Tagliatelle Bolognese

Burrata and Prosciutto Pizza

Burrata and Prosciutto Pizza

Portobello Mushroom Fries

Portobello Mushroom Fries

Macarons

So Many Flavors to Choose From!

Macarons

Pièce de résistance-- Macarons! Salted Caramel, Lemon, Pistachio and Vanilla.

It is a really good thing Bottega Louie wasn’t open when I was living in downtown LA because I would have spent all my money there. I had heard about their delicious portobello mushroom fries and I’m so glad they didn’t disappoint. They weren’t too greasy and had a nice breading on them, but the mushroom slices were nice and fat, giving it more texture. Even though it was incredibly simply, I actually really liked the tagliatelle bolognese and found myself reaching for third and fourth helpings of it. But really, everyone goes to Bottega Louie for their macarons. I hadn’t had macarons since Maison du Macaron in New York and I was impressed. They were thicker than what I was used to, but they had that slightly crunchy exterior perfectly paired with a chewy center. I tried salted caramel, lemon, pistachio and vanilla. Pistachio was a disappointment and didn’t have much taste, but the other three flavors were great. I appreciate that the lemon macaron was sour (my citrus desserts need to be tart, people) and the vanilla macaron wasn’t overly sweet.

Furaibo

Soft-Shell Crab

Soft-Shell Crab

Agedashi Tofu

Agedashi Tofu

Yuzu Chicken Wings

Yuzu Chicken Wings

Salmon Ochazuke

Salmon Ochazuke (It doesn't look good in that picture but it tasted delicious)

Grilled Eggplant with Miso Sauce and Deep Fried Cheese-Stuffed Fish Cakes

Grilled Eggplant with Miso Sauce and Deep Fried Cheese-Stuffed Fish Cakes

Fried Fish

Fried Fish

Holy moly. Furaibo was amazing! I’m a big fan of Japanese izakaya, but I tried so many things at Furaibo that I’d never seen before. Seriously, everything was delicious (and it’s worth the crazy wait), but there were a few star dishes. I adored the grilled eggplant with miso sauce because the miso sauce was something I had never tasted before. It was creamy and reminded me of peanut butter and the eggplant was seasoned and cooked perfectly. The deep fried cheese-stuffed fish cakes basically tasted like mini deep fried grilled cheese sandwiches. You couldn’t taste the fish cake, but I’m not complaining. Fish and cheese… not sure how that would have tasted. If you go, you MUST get the yuzu chicken wings. WOW. That might have been my favorite dish. The chicken has a slightly citrus taste but the combination went well with the charred taste of BBQ-ed skin. I probably could have eaten like six plates of that fried chicken. The fried fish was also really good (not greasy at all) and you really can’t beat the beautiful presentation.

Finally, I end this blog post with a picture from my favorite brunch place in Hermosa Beach– Martha’s 22nd Street Grill. I was reunited with my white corn scramble and I couldn’t have been happier. Tears of joy may have streamed down my face. I was too busy devouring it to really notice though.

White Corn Scramble

White Corn Scramble

2 thoughts on “Whirlwind Weekend in Los Angeles

Leave a Reply

