Asian Fusion Goodness at The House

Miso Cod

Miso Cod Special

A couple of weeks ago, my friends and I celebrated Sarabeth’s birthday and I finally got to check out one of the restaurants on my list, The House. The House is a small restaurant nestled in North Beach. In a district full of cheesy and over-the-top Italian restaurants, it’s a little funny to find a Asian fusion restaurant tucked in the corner of Grant Avenue and Broadway Street. But, it was absolutely delicious and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Hamachi Special

Hamachi Special

Crab Cake

Crab Cake

Salmon

Salmon

Sea Bass with Noodles

Sea Bass with Noodles

Pork Chop

Pork Chop with Pomegranate Sauce

I started the meal with the hamachi sashimi special of the day and the deep-fried chicken liver with greens. The hamachi was so fresh and literally melted in my mouth. The deep-fried chicken liver is a pass. I thought the breading was a little too thick and masked the taste of the chicken liver. I also got to try the crab cake and I loved it. The breading wasn’t too thick and the crab filling was plentiful and fresh-tasting.

The House cooks fish perfectly. My favorite dish was the miso cod; second favorite was the salmon; and third favorite was the sea bass. I don’t think I’ve ever had fish cooked so well in my life. The miso cod was one of the specials of the night and served with two uncut sushi rolls on top. The cod was almost buttery and the sauce complemented it perfectly. If you see the miso cod on the menu, order it! The salmon was a nice-sized fillet and very moist, served on top of bok choy. My sea bass was soft and came with a ginger soy sauce. While the sea bass was also very good, the cod and salmon were even better.

My friends raved about the pomegranate pork chop and it had a nice honey glaze on it. While tasty, the flavor reminded me of a piece of BBQ pork (char siu) that you can buy at Cantonese restaurants. I feel like I could eat a piece of char siu and be just as satisfied. The fish is better and I would definitely choose any of their fish dishes over the pork chop.

Chocolate Cake

Chocolate Cake

Apple Crumb Pie

Apple Crumb Pie

Mango Tapioca

Mango Tapioca

For dessert we ordered the chocolate cake, apple crumb pie and mango tapioca. All of the desserts were solid. I liked that the chocolate cake wasn’t too heavy, but it still had a rich chocolate taste. I love that the apple crumb pie had big pieces of baked apples and the crumb topping was yum. The mango tapioca reminded me of a classic Asian dessert and I think it’s my favorite out of the three. Honestly, we were all a little full (because the portions at The House are so generous) and couldn’t even finish all of our desserts.

If you do go to The House, be sure to make reservations. The restaurant is really small and I saw tables being turned away at 8 p.m. on a Monday night! Don’t let that deter you because I guarantee you’ll love it!

The House

Happy Birthday, Sarabeth!

4 thoughts on “Asian Fusion Goodness at The House

  1. OMG I love asian fusion and that place looks amazing! I especially love reading about the wild things you eat since I would never dare to eat them myself.

    Also- Ive been trying not to eyeball your NYC food adventures every time I visit RB Jello but it just loooookksss soo good …I HAVE To STARE! I have a staring problem.

    • Larinna, you should totally go to The House if you come up to SF. It was delectable. Feel free to stare at my blog any time. I appreciate your readership and support! Stare Away!!!

Leave a Reply

