Pig, Pie and Jean Paul Gaultier

One of my favorite pieces at the Jean Paul Gaultier exhibit

I’m so happy that I got to see Jean Paul Gaultier’s exhibit at the de Young Museum in San Francisco before it ended this weekend. I made a whole day excursion to the city visiting the de Young, eating delicious angel wings at Marnee Thai and meeting up with friends for dinner #1 and dinner #2 (more to come on that). The exhibit was gorgeous, showcasing Gaultier’s exquisite works of art. It reminded me of Alexander McQueen’s exhibit at the Met, which I visited last year in New York.

Iconic Corsets

Costume Designs for Madonna

Holographic, Moving Faces on the Mannequins

Totally Looks like Body Worlds

Loved the Fluorescent Rope Dresses

Besides visiting the de Young and catching up with wonderful friends, I inadvertently tried a new restaurant in the Mission, Pig & Pie.  My friends and I had just finished a lovely meal at Dosa, but we all wanted dessert. I wanted pie, but I already knew my distaste for Mission Pie. Anne did some research on Yelp, discovered Pig & Pie and away we went!

Shaker Lemon Pie with Homemade Ice Cream

Pig & Pie Bratwurst

Pig & Pie Bratwurst

I love the concept of Pig & Pie. It’s literally sausage and pie. That’s it. They’re open until 1am on Fridays and Saturdays. Freaking geniuses. Because after a night of partying in the Mission, what else could a person want other than a slice of homemade pie and a delicious sausage? P&P serve three types of pie: pecan, shaker lemon and a seasonal flavor. When we went, they had a summer berry pie. I loved that the crust was buttery, flaky and everything that pie crust should be. My slice of shaker lemon pie was good, but I wanted it to be more sour (I always want my citrus desserts more sour). The berry pie blew my friends and me out of the water. One of my friends said it was the best pie she’s ever had.

Even though I had dinner and pie, I was ready to try P&P’s sausage (having two dinners is kind of the story of my life). Anne and I split their bratwurst, which was served with sauerkraut, caramelized onions and spicy beer mustard. Anne could not stop raving about how “amazing” the bratwurst was. P&P grind and case their own meat. We asked where they got their bread and it turns out it was P&P’s recipe and the bread is baked across the street at La Victoria. I highly recommend Pig & Pie and I like their sausages even more than Rosamunde Sausage Grill (I hope I don’t get hate emails from that statement).

Leave a Reply

