Brunch at Eggs & Co. and Musée Rodin

The Thinker

Thinking with every single muscle in his body, Auguste Rodin’s “The Thinker.”

I was glad to finally escape my room on Sunday and meet up with My Red Kitchen (MRK) for brunch. MRK and I first met in May at Bocado in Shanghai. I am so incredibly grateful for how small the world is and how there is an immediate bond with fellow bloggers. After meeting the manager at Bocado and giving him my blog business card, he introduced me to MRK who was sitting at the table next to me. A Parisian with a food blog who would be returning to Paris in June? It was a match made in heaven (by the French food gods).

Eggs & Co.

Eggs & Co. in Saint-Germain-Des-Prés

Eggs & Co. is a small restaurant that specializes in– you guessed it–eggs. I was surprised that brunch is a popular meal in Paris because everything tends to be closed on Sundays (in retrospect: I don’t know why I was surprised since the French enjoy having really long meals). MRK assured me that brunch had been popular in Paris for quite a few years. At 2pm, the restaurant was still packed with people waiting aside (definitely make reservations beforehand). It’s a tiny restaurant with seating upstairs and squished tables. Don’t expect a quiet meal.

Everything is a set menu at Eggs & Co. so your meal will come with orange juice, tea or coffee, your main egg dish and then a giant pancake with fruit. The price range is around 25-30 euro. It’s a lot of food so come hungry.

I ordered the Coco meurette, English muffins with poached eggs topped with mushroom, bacon and shallots in a red wine sauce. Oeufs en meurette is one of my all-time favorite dishes and I was SO happy because the dish did not disappoint. The sauce had been reduced perfectly; it was thick and incredibly flavorful. MRK ordered oeufs à la coque, which are soft-boiled eggs that are served with mouliettes (perfectly shaped breadsticks to dip into your egg). She asked me what the translation was for oeufs à la coque in English and I realized Americans don’t really have anything like it. Yes, we have soft-boiled eggs, but no one will go through the effort to cut and toast little sticks of bread for you. I don’t know why because it’s the best idea ever. The pancakes were served with maple syrup and a fruit salad. They were OK (too thick), but my expectations weren’t high since it’s Eggs & Co. and not Pancakes & Co.

Musee Rodin

Musée Rodin

Musee Rodin Garden

The Gardens Were Gorgeous

The Gates of Hell

Rodin worked on “The Gates of Hell” for 37 years, until he died in 1917.

After eating a giant meal, I thought it would be a good idea to take a walk and enjoy the exceptionally warm day in Paris (it’s been rainy and cold for weeks). The Musée Rodin has been on my to-do list forever so I decided to walk to the museum to check out the famous gardens. Born in 1840, Auguste Rodin is considered the father of modern sculpture. He was the first person to not “idolize” people in sculptures with their perfect bodies. His sculptures expressed strength and realism (Rodin casted from live models). Often times, Rodin’s work is not polished or smooth, but rough and “unfinished” looking, which helps give his works a sense of movement.

Even if you’re not the biggest fan of art or sculptures, the Rodin Museum is worth visiting just for the gardens. The gardens are big and a perfect place to just sit, relax and escape. There are plenty of chairs and benches to sit and read and I saw couples having a picnic and drinking wine (men, this is the ultimate date spot; you can be cultured and romantic). The best part of the gardens? The entrance fee is only 1 euro!

I had an amazing afternoon wandering the gardens and I highly recommend you visit on a nice day. On Wednesdays, the gardens are open late. I’m going to have to go back and see how everything looks illuminated at night. For all my Bay Area friends, Stanford University’s Cantor Arts Center has the world’s largest collection of Rodin’s work outside of Paris and admission is free! You can go and see “The Thinker” and “The Gates of Hell” for yourself.

Musee Rodin

4 thoughts on “Brunch at Eggs & Co. and Musée Rodin

  1. We do have a words for oeufs à la coque in English! It’s soft boiled eggs with toast soldiers. It refers to how the little toasts are often served lined up, as if they were soldiers on parade.

Leave a Reply

