Chanel’s Little Black Jacket Revisited; International Herald Tribune Celebrates 125 Years

Chanel's La Petite Veste Noire

Chanel’s La Petite Veste Noire Exhibit

I’ve become extremely efficient with my time in Paris. Yesterday, not only did I meet up with three different friends separately, but also I visited Chanel’s “La Petite Veste Noire” exhibit at the Grand Palais. Two days before that, I caught the last day of the International Herald Tribune’sEye on the World” exhibit, a photo montage to celebrate the newspaper’s 125th anniversary.

Chanel's Little Black Jacket Exhibit

Why yes, that is Yoko Ono dancing in a top hat (middle).

Karl Lagerfeld

Chanel’s Classic Revisited by Karl Lagerfeld

Chanel Photos

Up Close and Personal With Some of the Photos

After seeing New York fashion editors Instagram and blog about La Petite Veste Noire earlier in the year, I knew I had to see it. The exhibit is small (but free!) with two rooms featuring Karl Lagerfeld’s photos of celebrities wearing a Chanel classic, The Little Black Jacket.  I loved the photography, most of it in black and white, and how Lagerfeld was bringing back old Hollywood-like glamour.

International Herald Tribune's Eye on the World

International Herald Tribune’s Eye on the World Exhibit. Photos of Claude Monet and Paris’ Shakespeare & Co. Bookstore (top right).

International Herald Tribune Turns 125

Gene Kelly in an American from Paris (top left); Franklin D. Roosevelt giving a speech before the 75th Congress (bottom left); Coco Chanel (right)

In honor of its 125th anniversary, the International Herald Tribune (IHT) showcased archived photos– one from each year of the IHT. There was so much history packed in this one room and it was incredible to basically watch history unfold in front of your eyes. I liked how they kept the original markings that editors had used to crop the photos.

Le Loir dans la Théière

Le Loir dans la Théière in the Marais. Check out that meringue on my lemon tart.

Yesterday, my dear friend Christophe took me for tea and dessert at Le Loir dans la Théière in the Marais. It was an adorable restaurant that’s named after the dormouse who lived in the teapot at the Mad Hatter’s tea party in Alice in Wonderland. Side note: I played said dormouse in my 2nd grade play. It was the perfect place to escape the cold weather for a hot cup of tea. I ordered the lemon meringue tart and Christophe had the chocolate tart. Our desserts and tea blends were absolutely amazing. I have a feeling I’ll be stopping by every time I go to the Marais.

Les Mauvais Garçons

Les Mauvais Garçons in the Marais

Another highlight yesterday was meeting the wonderful food blogger Diane for dinner. I stumbled on Diane’s blog through WordPress’ Freshly Pressed posts. Besides admiring her gorgeous photos, I immediately knew that I found a kindred spirit. An American from LA living in Paris who blogged about homemade, delectable food? Imagine my surprise when I stalked her scrolled through her posts and found out we had mutual Parisian friends!

We met up for dinner at Les Mauvais Garçons (The Bad Boys), a charming French restaurant, which has a fantastic set menu (appetizer, main course and dessert) for 24 euro. Over warm camembert salad and salmon, Diane and I discussed everything from fleur de sel to PSY (yes, we went there). I had no idea what type of connections my blog would lead to, but I’m so happy to have met Diane. I’m looking forward to many more fun nights over great food and a bottle of wine.

Snapshots of my life

Snapshots of my life: Kusmi Tea (I’m obsessed), Ladurée macarons (another obsession), gyudon and karaage from Kunitoraya and I VISIT GOOGLE FRANCE!

Besides all of these wonderful events, I also got to visit the Google France office thanks to my friend Andrew. Coincidentally, Andrew is one of the mutual friends that Diane and I share. I wasn’t allowed to take pictures inside the office, but take my word for it– it was freaking awesome. Granted I don’t think anything can compare to the headquarters in Mountain View, but I was surprised at all cool perks they still had like free food, a game room and a video conference room inside a VW Buggy car (I KID YOU NOT). What I like about the Paris office is that it’s set in a historical building. I adored the juxtaposition of a modern office inside a old building. I seriously wish I could have taken photos because– in my mind– it was just as exciting as visiting a museum.

Culture, great food and amazing friends (old and new). This city has everything and I’m just happy to have a blog to help me savor every minute!

6 thoughts on “Chanel’s Little Black Jacket Revisited; International Herald Tribune Celebrates 125 Years

Leave a Reply

