Paris: Christian Constant’s Les Cocottes

Les Cocottes

I love that my apartment is walking distance from restaurants that I’ve been dying to cross off my list. Pure kismet. On that list was Les Cocottes (135 Rue Saint-Dominique), a modern French restaurant by Christian Constant, where everything is served in Staub cocottes. Christian Constant actually has three restaurants all next to each other on Rue Saint-Dominique: Café Constant, Les Cocottes and Le Violin D’Ingres. People have actually dubbed that section of the street “Rue Constant.”

At Les Cocottes, I had a lovely guide to show me the way. Grace is a fellow blogger living in Paris and I feel like we are kindred spirits because of our extreme love of food. Les Cocottes is one of her go-to places so I happily let her suggest which dishes to order.

Les Cocottes- Langoustine Ravioli with Artichoke Mousseline

Langoustine Ravioli with Artichoke Mousseline

Les Cocottes- Poached Egg and Crispy Bacon Salad

Poached Egg and Crispy Bacon Salad

We started with the langoustine ravioli with artichoke mousseline and the poached egg and crispy bacon salad. I know the picture of the langoustine ravioli does not look like much, but those precious morsels were covered in a beautiful foam. That soft, delicate sauce was simply outstanding. I could not stop dipping my baguette into it (the waiter had to refill our bread basket) and thinking how lucky I was to be eating this delicious food at that moment. The ravioli were good, but it is really the sauce that steals the show. While I enjoyed the poached egg and bacon salad, the bacon was a little too tough for my liking. It was not “crispy” but “difficult to eat” instead. It was a simple salad with a nice vinaigrette dressing.

Les Cocottes-Braised Beef in Red Wine

Braised Beef in Red Wine

Les Cocottes- Cod Filet with Vegetables

Cod Filet

For our main dishes, we ordered the braised beef and the cod filet. The beef was very tender, but it was honestly a little too salty for my liking. I would not order it again. The cod filet was mind-blowing. It had an Asian flair to it because it was cooked with honey, ginger, fennel and carrot and coriander. I normally do not like eating fish skin, but it was SO tasty and I couldn’t resist it. You could definitely taste the honey and ginger and I found myself eating Grace’s portion of the fish.

La fabuleuse tarte au chocolat de Christian Constant

Tarte au Chocolat de Christian Constant

For dessert, Grace said we had to order the chocolate tart. I was amused by the tart’s name on the menu, “La fabuleuse tarte au chocolat de Christian Constant,” which translates to The Fabulous Chocolate Tart by Christian Constant. I’m glad the dessert lives up to its name. The tart filling was thick, dense and fudge-like. It was rich, but not too chocolatey at the same time.

Everything wasn’t all rainbows and sunshine at Les Cocottes. I experienced sub-par service and just plain rudeness from the waiter and waitress. When I asked if we could have two plates, they said they did not offer plates. This whole concept of not offering plates when the dishes are really difficult to share is just beyond me. It was awkward eating out of large cocotte between two people. Considering that it’s all counter/high table seating, I wouldn’t advise going with a large party and trying to share dishes. It’s easier just to eat your own. Grace, who has frequented the restaurant many times, claims that the service is normally much better and normally, they are much friendlier. I’m hoping that they are. I’m willing to back because the langoustine ravioli and cod fish are just THAT good.

Besides the wonderful food and company, I was happy to share this beautiful view with Grace.

La Tour Eiffel

La Tour Eiffel

The restaurant is just around the corner from the Eiffel Tower so we took a walk over to le Champ de Mars to witness the tower in all of its glory and waited for the light show. I never grow tired of watching that light show. Also, my apartment is just a 20-minute walk away from La Tour Eiffel. Moments like that remind me why I’m in love with this city.

7 thoughts on “Paris: Christian Constant’s Les Cocottes

  1. I am dying to try this restaurant. I have family visiting next week so I feel its the perfect excuse. I may have to order the langoustine ravioli as it sounds so tempting :)

    • Yes, you must take them! Make sure to go early because they don’t take reservations. They open at 7pm so I recommend showing up at 6:45pm and waiting if you have a larger party.

    • Not yet, but I’m adding the other two to my list. Grace told me that the duck at Café Constant is really good. Le Violin D’Ingres is the most expensive of the three, but it has a Michelin star!

  2. Pingback: Les Cocottes | Diane, A Broad

Leave a Reply

