Paris: Jackie’s 50 Things to Eat Before You Die

Escalope de foie gras chaud à ma façon at La Fontaine de Mars

Escalope de foie gras chaud à ma façon at La Fontaine de Mars

Affogato at Pozzetto

Affogato at Pozzetto

Oeufs de poule mollets roulés à la mie de pain, toasts de beurre truffé at Le Violin d’Ingres

Oeufs de poule mollets roulés à la mie de pain, toasts de beurre truffé at Le Violin d’Ingres

It is a little crazy to think that around this time last year, I was leaving San Francisco and developed my own list of 100 Things in San Francisco to Eat Before You Die. This past year in Paris has flown by and I’ve done so much (understatement of the year). I still can’t believe that this is my last week as a true Parisian.

Éclairs at L’Éclair de Génie

Éclairs at L’Éclair de Génie

While I cannot claim to be an expert on the crème de la crème of the food scene in Paris, I thought I would compile my own list of my favorite things in the City of Light. I believe that there is SO much good food still out there; alas, I can only vouch for the things that I’ve personally eaten.

Truffle risotto at Dans Les Landes

Truffle risotto at Dans Les Landes

I wish I lived here long enough to develop 100 things to eat before you die, but I guess you will just have to settle for 50. You’ll notice that some restaurants have multiple dishes listed because they just simply excel at gastronomy. One dish is not enough to list. Also, you’ll probably notice that there are a lot of desserts on the list. What can I say? No one can beat the French when it comes to pastries and dessert. In no particular order, I present to you:

Jackie’s 50 Things to Eat Before You Die (Paris Edition)

  1. Escalope de foie gras chaud à ma façon at La Fontaine de Mars (pan-seared foie gras with pears)
  2. Oeufs au Madiran façon meurette at La Fontaine de Mars (eggs baked with bacon, shallots and a red wine reduction sauce)
  3. Financier at Le Moulin de Rosa (32 rue de Turenne)
  4. Pavé de cabillaud at Les Cocottes
  5. Langoustine ravioli at Les Cocottes
  6. La fabuleuse tarte au chocolat de Christian Constant at Les Cocottes
  7. Any crêpe with salted caramel at Breizh Café
  8. Kakemiso udon at Sanukiya
  9. Croissant at La Pâtisserie by Cyril Lignac
  10. Affogato at Pozzetto (fior di latte gelato is amazing!)
  11. Foie gras royale at Frenchie
  12. Grand Marnier soufflé at Joséphine Chez Dumonet
  13. Lemon or vanilla macaron at Ladurée (I’m not a fan of the other flavors)
  14. French toast at Ladurée
  15. Carnard à l’orange at Le Petit Carnard
  16. Mango passion caramels at Jacques Genin
  17. Hot chocolate at Jacques Genin
  18. Fallafel at L’As du Fallafel
  19. Salted caramel macaron at Carette (I’m not a fan of the other flavors)
  20. Brunch at Bobby & Bobette
  21. Ground pork noodles in miso soup (炸酱面) at Happy Nouilles
  22. Madeleines at Blé Sucré
  23. Bakesale Betty, fried chicken sandwich at Verjus (lunch only)
  24. Any cocktail at Experimental Cocktail Club
  25. Ice cream macarons at Martine Lambert (my personal favorite is vanilla)
  26. Oeufs de poule mollets roulés à la mie de pain, toasts de beurre truffé at Le Violin d’Ingres
  27. Truffle risotto at Dans Les Landes
  28. Fish and chips at Dans Les Landes
  29. Any ice cream flavor at Berthillon
  30. Profiteroles at Café Constant
  31. Tarte fine aux pommes at Café Constant
  32. Kimchi with pork and tofu at Dawa (5 rue Humblot)
  33. Salted caramel éclair at L’Éclair de Génie
  34. Lunch at Soul Kitchen (menu changes daily)
  35. Lemon meringue tart at Le Loir dans la Théière
  36. Ratatouille at Chez Janou
  37. Chocolate mousse at Chez Janou
  38. Egg custard tart/pastel de nata at Comme à Lisbonne
  39. Escargots at Benoit
  40. Mille-feuille at Benoit
  41. Coco Meurette at Eggs & Co.
  42. Crème brûlée at La Coupole
  43. Lunch at Pierre Sang Boyer (menu changes daily)
  44. Sashimi at Foujita 2 (7 rue du 29 juillet)
  45. Steak tartare at Ma Bourgogne
  46. Coffee from Coutume Café
  47. Apple panna cotta at Les Papilles (seasonal)
  48. Salad at Les Fabricants (giant filling salads for around 10 euro)
  49. Strawberry shortcake at Aki Boulanger (Japanese-style bakery)
  50. Karaage at Kunitoraya (has nice hints of ginger to it)

I’m feeling really lucky because last year I talked about how it had always been my dream to live in San Francisco. Another one of my dreams has been to live in Paris. I am a huge Francophile and Paris has always been my favorite city. I’m happy to say that it still is my favorite city, but I’m extremely sad to leave. I have a feeling this won’t be my last trip. In the mean time, I’m hoping this list will keep you very busy. Bon appétit!

Ice cream macarons and ice cream from Martine Lambert

Ice cream macarons and ice cream from Martine Lambert

Salad at Les Fabricants

Salad at Les Fabricants

Pear, salted caramel and Chantilly cream crêpe at Breizh Café

Pear, salted caramel and Chantilly cream crêpe at Breizh Café

Eiffel Tower

Vive la France!

7 thoughts on “Paris: Jackie’s 50 Things to Eat Before You Die

  1. bonjour, je tenais à te feliciter pour la pertinence des articles de ton blog ! j’édite moi aussi un blog depuis peu et j’espère pouvoir faire aussi bien :-) A bientôt, ZAK

  2. Pingback: Noodlin’ Around (Part 1) | Worth Eating

Leave a Reply

