Hong Kong Museum of Art and the Fatty Crab

Chili Crab at the Fatty Crab in Hong Kong

Chili Crab at the Fatty Crab in Hong Kong

It was an extremely rainy weekend in Hong Kong, but it provided the perfect excuse to check out one of Hong Kong’s museums. My friends and I went to the Hong Kong Museum of Art to see The Origins of Dao: New Dimensions in Chinese Contemporary Art exhibit.

Origins of Dao Exhibit

Origins of Dao Exhibit

Hanging Gourd

Hanging Gourd

For just 10 Hong Kong dollars (5 dollars if you’re a student), you can check out the contemporary art, Chinese painting, Chinese antiquity and calligraphy exhibits. It is totally worth it and you get a cool view of the harbor too.

The heads are creepy, but the harbor view is great.

The heads are creepy, but the harbor view is great.

My favorite: Please Proceed to 2F

My favorite: Please Proceed to 2F

The Origins of Dao is in town until August 18. Given that the rainy weather is likely to continue, I hope you get the chance to see it for yourself.

Fatty Crab Hong Kong

Fatty Crab Hong Kong

The Fatty Crab just opened in Hong Kong a couple of weeks ago. I love how HK has such a bustling food scene and even attracts New York institutions like the Fatty Crab and Ippudo ramen. The bar was relaxed and chill with mixologists making innovative cocktails.

The Student and the Teacher

The Student and the Teacher

Top: Fatty Duck; Bottom: Watermelon Pickle and Crispy Pork

Top: Fatty Duck; Bottom: Watermelon Pickle and Crispy Pork

We ordered the fatty duck, watermelon pickle and crispy pork and the chili crab. I wasn’t a fan of the fatty duck because I found it dry, tough and hard to eat. I enjoyed the combination of the watermelon pickle with the pork belly. The watermelon pickle had a nice sourness to contrast the caramelization of the pork belly. By far, the chili crab was the best thing we ate all night. I’ve never had authentic chili crab from Singapore, but this was an extremely tasty crab. The type where the sauce just gets all over your hands, but you don’t care because you can just lick it off. It came with slices of Texas toast to dip in the sauce. We demolished the crab and wiped that bowl clean.

While it is a little pricey (and not huge portions), I was really enjoying the ambiance of the restaurant and the hospitality of the staff. It was just a chill place with awesome people and I would gladly go back to celebrate another occasion. I’m curious to know what the Fatty Crab is like in New York. Hopefully, I’ll have the chance to compare the two someday!

10 thoughts on “Hong Kong Museum of Art and the Fatty Crab

  1. Omg… this fatty crab is making me miss HK and Singapore! hope you’re enjoying your time in HK! btw, the picture of the hanging gourd in the museum is absolutely beautiful! I’ve been to HK so many times but have never entered into the museum of art…maybe the next time i go there i must pay it a little visit!

    • I had never been to a museum at Hong Kong either! I think I am too busy eating, shopping and spending time with relatives. Do you have a good chili crab rec in Singapore? I’m going for the first time next month.

Leave a Reply

