Recipe: Vegan Mushroom and Cauliflower Soup

Vegan Mushroom & Cauliflower Soup

Vegan Mushroom & Cauliflower Soup

I already wrote about how obsessed I am with the food at MANA!. After scouring their website, I stumbled upon a recipe for their vegan mushroom soup. I had high expectations, but this soup really blew me away. I was shocked how much flavor could come out of vegetables, especially because I didn’t even use vegetable broth for the base– just plain water.

I changed up the recipe because I can’t deal with the metric system so I made up my own measurements. The original recipe calls for shitake mushrooms, but I used portobollo mushrooms because I wanted a “meatier” texture. The recipe is really simple and just requires some mincing/chopping and 30-45 minutes to cook.

Vegan Mushroom Soup

Vegan Mushroom & Cauliflower Soup

Makes about 2-3 bowls of soup

Ingredients

  • 2 portobello mushrooms
  • 1 cup of chopped cauliflower
  • ¼ leek
  • ½ white onion
  • 4 gloves of garlic
  • 2 tablespoons of soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Approx. 4 cups of water

Directions

  • Mince onion, leek, garlic finely
  • Chop 1/2 of the mushrooms and cauliflower finely and chop the other 1/2 into chunks
  • Heat frying pan to medium-high heat and add olive oil
  • Stir-fry onion, leek and garlic till fragrant (approx. 2-3 minutes)
  • Add mushrooms and cauliflower and stir-fry for 1 minute
  • Add soy sauce and continue to stir-fry for another 30 seconds to 1 minute
  • Transfer mixture to pot (do not drain the juices)
  • Add enough water to cover the vegetables
  • Bring soup to a boil
  • Turn heat down and let covered soup simmer till mushrooms and cauliflower are softened (approx 30-45 min.)
  • Add black pepper and salt to taste

The first time I made this soup, I actually boiled it down too far and there wasn’t enough liquid. I made sure to add extra water the second time to have more soup. Truthfully, I got really lazy chopping and roughly chopped all my mushrooms and cauliflowers. I like having more texture. I would still mince the onion, leek and garlic. The only thing that might make this soup better would be stir-frying everything in butter instead of olive oil. Of course, that change wouldn’t make the soup vegan-friendly!

Recipe source: MANA! website

Side note: MANA! also has a recipe for raw coconut cake that looks absolutely amazing, but I can’t make it because I don’t have a blender.

5 thoughts on “Recipe: Vegan Mushroom and Cauliflower Soup

    • Thanks, Edna! I don’t cook anything fancy, but it’s nice to have more free time to experiment. I hope your new life in Italy is going well. I can’t wait to read more updates. :)

  1. Pingback: Recipe: Vegan Mushroom and Cauliflower Soup | M...

  2. Pingback: Recipe: Vegan Mushroom and Cauliflower Soup

  3. Pingback: Recipe: Vegan Mushroom and Cauliflower Soup | V...

Leave a Reply

