Hong Kong: Jackie’s 25 Things to Eat Before You Die

Black Pepper Crab at Katong

Black Pepper Crab at Katong

Mango Drink at Hui Lau Shan

Mango Drink at Hui Lau Shan

High Tea at Sevva

High Tea at Sevva

My time in Hong Kong has unfortunately come to an end and I’m off to a new city for a more permanent move. I’ve had the most amazing four months in Hong Kong and this is the longest amount of time I’ve ever spent here. I’ve fallen in love with the city, the people and most of all– the food!

I’m definitely not an expert on the food scene in Hong Kong, because it is absolutely epic here. Between the Michelin-rated restaurants and the down-and-dirty street food, there is such a wide variety of choices! I could honestly live in Hong Kong for years and probably not even make a dent on the restaurant scene.

From left to right: xiao long bao at Din Tai Fung; tomato crab vermicelli soup at Nha Trang; fish tacos at Brickhouse; steamed papaya soup at The Chinese Restaurant

From left to right: xiao long bao at Din Tai Fung; tomato crab vermicelli soup at Nha Trang; fish tacos at Brickhouse; steamed papaya soup at The Chinese Restaurant

I wanted to continue my tradition of creating a food guide when I leave a city. This follows the same vein as my 100 Things to Eat in San Francisco to Eat Before You Die and 50 Things to Eat in Paris Before You Die. You probably notice a pretty gaping hole and ask: “Jackie, where is the dim sum?” Don’t get me wrong. I had great dim sum, but I don’t feel like I’ve been able to truly explore the best of the best of Hong Kong’s dim sum. It was difficult since you can’t really order dim sum for one person. I leave that for my next challenge!

So finally, in no particular order, I present to you:

Jackie’s 25 Things to Eat Before You Die (Hong Kong Edition)

  1. Won ton noodles at Mak Man Kee Noodle Shop (has to be the branch in Jordan at 51 Parkes Street; the other branches are not as good)
  2. Steamed milk at Yee Shun Dairy Company (comes in a variety of flavors but my favorite is plain steamed milk served cold)
  3. Tomato beef over rice at Tsui Wah
  4. Fish tacos at Brickhouse
  5. Soft shell crab curry at nahm
  6. Mini bread basket at L’Atelier de Joel Robuchon
  7. Hokkaido dairy milk froyo at Café & Meal Muji (it’s creamy and decadent)
  8. Steamed papaya soup at The Chinese Restaurant in Hyatt Regency Tsim Sha Tsui
  9. Iced tea drink at Gong Cha (I like lychee oolong with grass jelly and aloe)
  10. Scrambled eggs and toast at Australia Dairy Company
  11. High tea at Sevva
  12. Black pepper crab at Katong
  13. Curry fried beef brisket at Le Soleil (best to go for lunch)
  14. Mango drinks at Hui Lau Shan
  15. Lunch at Pierre (lunch is much more reasonable compared to dinner)
  16. Tomato crab vermicelli soup at Nha Trang
  17. Literally anything on the menu at MANA! Fast Slow Food (my favorites are the tofu burger, flats and quinoa)
  18. Prawn lo mein at Bugis Corner
  19. Chili crab at Fatty Crab
  20. Any pasta dish at 8 1/2 Otto e Mezzo Bombana (enjoy a glass of white sangria too)
  21. Spicy salmon sushi at Sen-Ryo (the miso cod is also amazing)
  22. Martinis at Café Grey Deluxe
  23. Tonkatsu at Saboten Japanese Cutlet
  24. Steamed xiao long bao at Din Tai Fung
  25. Poached salmon salad with asparagus and spinach at Jaspa’s
White Sangria and Pasta at 8 1/2 Otto e Mezzo Bombana

White Sangria and Pasta at 8 1/2 Otto e Mezzo Bombana

Steamed Milk at Yee Shun Dairy Company

Steamed Milk at Yee Shun Dairy Company

What a year it has been. After literally traveling the globe and not knowing where my next move would be, I’m excited to announce that I accepted a position in Shanghai and am moving there tomorrow! I am really looking forward to exploring one of my favorite cities in China and hopefully making some great new friends. I think I’m even happier to finally have a new city to call “home.”

I also wanted to take this moment to thank you for reading my blog. It has been a wonderful experience being able to blog about my travels in Paris, Hong Kong, Dubai, Italy, Switzerland and Singapore (all in the past year!). I’m looking forward to sharing my adventures in Shanghai with you!

Shanghai, here I come!

Shanghai, here I come!

4 thoughts on “Hong Kong: Jackie’s 25 Things to Eat Before You Die

    • They are literally some of the best fish tacos I’ve ever had in my life AND I’m from California! That’s saying a lot. I hope you get a chance to come to Hong Kong and try it for yourself. :)

  1. Ahhhh I’ve been expecting this post ! Jackie, you are such a foodista ;) I love the way you recommend “where to eat” along with “what to eat”. And I love your job, whatever you doing, being able to travel the world is such an inspiration ! Have plenty of fun in SH, and you know what I’ll be expecting soon …

Leave a Reply

