Happy Thanksgiving from Shanghai

Boxing Cat Brewery

Boxing Cat Brewery

Thanksgiving is probably my favorite holiday. It is so distinctly American and celebrates family, friends and eating! It honestly doesn’t get any better than that.

Thanksgiving Food!!!

Thanksgiving Food!!!

I’m always home for Thanksgiving. This is only my third Thanksgiving away from my family and it is now two years in a row that I couldn’t go home. Last year’s Thanksgiving in Paris was a lot of fun, but I’m happy to report that Shanghai Thanksgiving was just as successful!

Celebrating Thanksgiving with a Wonderful Group of People

Celebrating Thanksgiving with a Wonderful Group of People

Lana planned a wonderful meal at Boxing Cat Brewery with 19 people! Boxing Cat hosted a special Thanksgiving meal with the following menu (and free flowing beer/wine).

Butter Roasted Turkey
Bourbon Maple Glazed Ham
Herb Mushroom Pan Gravy
Southern Dinner Rolls
Roast Pumplin & Kale Salad, Bacon Vinaigrette
Smoke Apple, Rye, Pecan Stuffing
Mashed Potatoes
Roasted Baby Fall Vegetables
Sweet Potato & Beet Gratin
Green Bean Casserole
Pork Belly Mac N’ Cheese
Spiced Pumpkin Pie
Apple Pie
Chocolate Pecan Cream Pie

Happy Thanksgiving

No Thanksgiving would be complete without pie!

The food was absolutely delicious and I loved how Boxing Cat actually decorated the restaurant for Thanksgiving. The turkey was honestly better than the turkey I would have eaten at home. It was tender, moist and actually flavorful (our turkey tends to run on the dry side). Besides the turkey, my other favorite dish was probably the Pork Belly Mac N’ Cheese, which isn’t very Thanksgiving-y but it was so tasty and the noodles weren’t overcooked. Also, I was so impressed by all of the pies! They were all super good and not too sweet. I was such a happy camper to be surrounded by wonderful food that reminded me of home and also be surrounded by such a warm and welcoming group of people.

Adorable Painted Leaf and Quote from Lana

Adorable Painted Leaf and Quote from Lana

I am definitely thankful for so many things. I am thankful to have found a job in Shanghai, which I really enjoy, and have the opportunity to speak Mandarin each and every single day. I am extra thankful to have found Lana who has been so incredibly welcoming and introduced me to her circle of friends. I feel like my life in Shanghai has been so much easier because of her. Finally, I am thankful that December is around the corner and I’ll be going home soon for Christmas! Hope everyone else is having a wonderful Turkey Day!!!

2 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving from Shanghai

Leave a Reply

