Shanghai: House of Lasagna, Henkes and Mr. X

Lasagna Bolognese with Garlic Bread

Lasagna Bolognese with Garlic Bread

The House of Lasagna (174 South Xiang Yang Road; 襄阳南路174号 opened in Shanghai a few months ago and I was eager to try it because lasagna is total comfort food to me. Growing up, I used to eat Stouffer’s microwavable frozen lasagna whenever my parents were on a trip and my sister used to babysit me. It’s a strange memory to have, but I instinctively link lasagna to good times with my sister. The House of Lasagna is in a tiny space with only about 4-5 tables and little stools. They offer the classics like Lasagna Bolognese while venturing out to some interesting combinations like Curry Seafood Lasagna.

Carbonara Lasagna at House of Lasagna in Shanghai

Carbonara Lasagna at House of Lasagna in Shanghai

I was craving a classic so I went with Lasagna Bolognese (classic ragu with mozzarella and parmesan) while my friend ordered the Carbonara Lasagna (bacon, mushroom and parmesan in cream sauce). We ordered the homemade shaken lemonade and Arnold Palmer. What I liked about the lasagna was that they served it in a clean beautiful plate with two delicious pieces of garlic bread. My lasagna bolognese was solid with plenty of cheese and a hearty meat sauce. I was only wishing there was more of the red sauce for me to dip my garlic bread in. Then again, maybe this is also just a personal preference because I always love a lot of sauce with my pasta.

House of Lasagna Delivery

Loving the cute delivery packaging! Carbonara lasagna on the left and pork belly and mashed potatos on the right.

The carbonara lasagna had a wonderful cream sauce with layers of ham and mushroom. I actually liked it better than my lasagna bolognese, but it is definitely rich and I don’t think I could have eaten an entire serving by myself. Since the restaurant is small, it’s not the most comfortable space in the world. House of Lasagna currently has free delivery and I have totally taken advantage of this service. When I ordered delivery, I tried their pork belly and mashed potatoes. I really like the pork belly. The meat was tender and actually tasted more like a pork chop and it came with worcestershire sauce to dip the meat in. I enjoyed the mashed potatoes but I felt like they needed more salt. I would definitely order the pork belly and mashed potatoes again.

Henkes Brunch in Shanghai

Henkes Brunch: Pancakes with Bacon and Bananas; Four Cheese Pizza; Eggs Benedict with Bacon

In other news, I’ve been trying to find new brunch places in Shanghai (because I can’t go to Madison every weekend). I recently went to Henkes (1601 Nanjing Xi Road; 南京西路1601号), which is located on the 1st floor of the Reel Mall. Henkes serves brunch all-day on the weekends, which I really appreciate on days when I can’t get out of bed until 3 or 4pm. I ordered the pancakes with bacon and bananas and my friend ordered the eggs benedict with bacon. In Shanghai, when you see “bacon” on the menu, it’s normally more like Canadian bacon so non-crispy ham. This was literally the first time I’ve seen American-style bacon and my heart nearly skipped a beat. Truthfully speaking, that was the real highlight of the meal. My pancakes didn’t have much of a buttermilk taste and the consistency was too cake-y for me. I definitely enjoyed the eggs benedict more, which had perfectly cooked eggs and a nice Hollandaise sauce. However, after both devouring our meals, my friend and I were still hungry. We ended up ordering a 4-cheese pizza, which again was just OK. The pizza was soggy and disappointing. I wouldn’t go out of my way to eat at Henkes at brunch again, but it’s a reasonable option if you wake up late on a lazy Saturday or Sunday.

Mr. X Puzzle House

Mr. X Puzzle House

Finally, the last thing I wanted to talk about was Mr. X (550 Jumen Road; 局门路550号), an awesome puzzle/mystery house. They have 5 different themed rooms and you’re basically locked in a room and have one hour to try and figure out how to get out. Reservations are absolutely necessary and it’s best to go with a group of 6-8 people. I don’t want to ruin any surprises, but the rooms are super interactive and really fun. I’ve done three of the rooms and I’m totally addicted and want to beat all of them. I highly recommend it and it’s even a good team building event if you’re looking for something fun to do with your co-workers.

2 thoughts on “Shanghai: House of Lasagna, Henkes and Mr. X

Leave a Reply

