What is rbjello?

I’ve been wanting to start a blog for awhile but have been intimidated for a number of reasons: 1) I lack any type of artistic abilities, 2) Going hand in hand with artistic abilities, I lack creative writing talent, 3) The time factor worried me, and 4) What happens on the internet, stays on the internet (forever!). What magically changed my mind?

It’s true that my artistic abilities haven’t improved, but I was given the opportunity to use WordPress more at my job and kind of learn it on the fly. I figured it’s a lot better to screw formatting on my own blog than screw up things on the website of a major organization. I still don’t think I am the strongest writer, but I find writing therapeutic. For all you foodies out there, you can understand how writing a Yelp review can be therapy. I like writing restaurant reviews during my lunch break and I find myself relaxed and happy afterward. I wanted an outlet where I could write about more than just food.

The time factor is still an issue so I’m not making any promises. There is no goal of “I will post once a week” because I will not meet that goal. I’m just going to say that I will write as often as I feel inspired. Let’s face it… you’re probably not going to want to read about the mundane details of my life either.

There’s no use trying to hide my identity. Everything is connected with Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Google+, etc. I’ve just come to the conclusion that there’s no use hiding when I’m one Google search away.

So what is rbjello? Rbjello = Rainbow Jell-o.

Rainbow jell-o at its finest

What was the inspiration for this wonderful screen name? Well, I was in 6th grade and trying to come up with a screen name for an AOL account. I don’t know how it popped into my head, but I started thinking about “Layer Jell-o” (more to come below) and how it looks like a rainbow. And BAM, Rbjello was born. It’s been with me since I was 12 and it looks like it’s not going anywhere. Rbjello has ALWAYS been available on every single thing I’ve ever opened an account on and it’s never failed to disappoint me. Yahoo! Mail recently congratulated me on being a customer for 12 years with that name. It made me feel old (and I am not).

OK, you’re probably wondering what is Layer Jell-o. I am so glad you asked because Layer Jell-o represents everything that is good and wonderful in this world (not to mention also delicious). It’s a time-consuming dessert made with jell-o and condensed milk. You have to do each layer one by one and make sure it sets before adding the new one; otherwise, you will not have layer jell-o–you will have blob jell-o.

I rarely make it because it normally takes a couple of hours (plus cleaning jell-o is a pain), but it always reminds me of July 4th because we used to make it at BBQ’s every year in the summertime. I’ll post the recipe after the page break, but I wanted to say thanks for reading my blog! I look forward to hearing from you too!

Layer Jell-o Recipe

Ingredients

  • Four 3 oz. Pkgs Jell-o [different flavors] (I use Strawberry, Orange, Lemon and Lime)
  • 6 Envelopes Knox Gelatin
  • 1 Cup Condensed Milk
  • 9 x 13 pan

Directions

**Note–My opinion: best to dissolve the Knox gelatin first in a little of the hot water [to ensure the lumps are gone] and then add the balance of the water/Jell-o/condensed milk

  • Jell-o Layers: For each package of jello, mix 1 package of Knox gelatin and 1 cup of hot water
  • Milk Layers: Mix together 2 envelopes of Knox gelatin and 2 cups of hot water along with the 1 cup of condensed milk. Use one cup of milk mixture for each milk layer.

Begin with first layer of jell-o.
And then 2nd layer is milk
Continue to alternate layers of jell-o and milk

Put in freezer for quick set:
Jell-o: 5-10 minutes
Milk: 15-20 minutes

Watch the set process, if ice crystals form on the layers [i.e., too long in the freezer], the next layer of goodness will not set as well when the jell-o is cut [the layers slide off of each other and what a mess that is!]. Use cookie cutters to cut fun shapes or just use a knife. Enjoy!

Is it worth the 2+ hours to make? Yes, it truly is.

4 thoughts on “What is rbjello?

  1. Great first post, my love! I look forward to reading more (because clearly, living with you is just not enough)! Now, let’s talk about when you and I will make this delicious wonder called layer jello…

  2. Fabulous first posting & look forward to keeping up with the adventures of RBjello…And when, are you mixin’ up your next batch of layer jell-o?? I’ll be right over!! 🙂

  3. That is so adorable!! I have just checked out your blog for the first time and it is lovely. I hope you have amazing adventures in Hong Kong and it’s a shame that I never got the chance to meet you whilst you were in Paris. One of my best friends in the world lives in Hong Kong (she’s been there for almost 2 years now) and loves it. I lived there as a child but have not been back in a long time; I hope to visit her at the end of this summer. In any case, all the best to you!

    • Thank you so much for the kind words! I heard such nice things about you through our mutual blogger friends in Paris. Let me know if you do come to Hong Kong. If I’m still here, it’d be wonderful to meet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

