How Justin Bieber started following me on Twitter

So, I’m just going to get this out of the way. I am a Justin Bieber fan. What started as a mild fascination and a Secret Santa gag gift (I got our intern JBieb’s first album) has turned into true admiration. I mean he was discovered on YouTube at the ripe, young age of 12 and had mad drum skills at the age of 3. Don’t believe me? Watch this video:

For the record, I have a  Justin Bieber Pandora station, but I do not actually own any of his music. I did watch “Never Say Never” in 3-D (it was excellent), but I also like to think that I supported the director, Jon M. Chu, who I went to high school and college with. And his father owns a Chinese restaurant that my parents have been going to for over 40 years (no joke). Side note: The Chinese restaurant now has a framed, signed poster of Justin Bieber’s “Never Say Never.” It’s silver and purple. I’ll take a picture the next time I go.

But I digress from 6:52 a.m. on May 19, 2011–the time and date Justin Bieber followed me on Twitter.

A little bit of backstory. I saw Ernie Halter, Tony Lucca, and Andrew Belle in concert almost a year ago at the Hotel Utah in San Francisco on July 18, 2010. I only knew Andrew Belle but was absolutely blown away by Ernie Halter and Tony Lucca too. My fellow concert go-er burned me a copy of both of Ernie Halter’s CDs and I fell in love with his music. My favorite song is probably “Meant to Be,” but the whole album is really good. It’s easy-going music that you can play in the background and you don’t have to skip a single song. I became a fan and started following Ernie Halter on Twitter.

Imagine my surprise last month when Ernie Halter started tweeting about Justin Bieber performing his song, “Come Home to Me” at a concert in Hong Kong… completely random. As a Ernie Halter AND Justin Bieber fan, I was thrilled for Ernie Halter. His Twitter page was starting to blow up and I was so happy that he was getting the attention that he truly deserved.

My surprise continued the next morning when people started @replying me on Twitter. I cannot make these tweets up:

“Congratulations. @JustinBieber following you. Be grateful.”

“@laur_biebs @BARTAdventures @LuceMorales @EllennBieber @TeamMiley_Arg @honnybieber ok fallow me… now.. haha”

“@BARTAdventures pretty pretty please follow back.”

Apparently, my love for Ernie Halter was enough to warrant Justin Bieber (OK, more like JBieb’s marketing person) to follow me on Twitter. My account started exploding. In 2 days, I had over 200 new followers. It probably makes me look like a pedophile since a lot of the accounts have the description of “11-year old girl.” It’s more than a month and a half later and I still have Beliebers following me and @replying me to follow them back (No, I do not want my Twitter stream to be clogged by Justin Bieber even more than it already is). And that is how I got Justin Bieber to follow me on Twitter.

The force is strong with young Bieber and he is still the king of social media. Don’t believe me? Read what Justin Bieber did to Ernie Halter’s Twitter numbers (he’s quickly approaching 500,000 followers).

4 thoughts on “How Justin Bieber started following me on Twitter

    • If Justin Bieber started following this blog, I would have a gaggle of teenage girls following me. It would bump up my site visits! We can only dream!

  1. Love this story and feel the same way about him! I said so many wonderful things about his movie and my coworker asked me jokingly if I’m his publicist. I wish! Can you send me a link to your Biebs Pandora station?

    • I know. My adoration for Justin Bieber is so strong that I’m not even ashamed to be a fan. Glad I can count on a fellow Belieber. I just emailed you a link to my Pandora station. I forgot to mention that even though I don’t own any of his music… I know ALL of his songs thanks to that station.

Leave a Reply

