Sensitive Skin

First off, get your mind out of the gutter. I’m talking about sensitive skin due to allergies. About two years ago, I started having reactions to my daily products, including lotions, sunscreens, cosmetics and shampoo. It was the most annoying thing in the world. Wherever I used the product, I would break out in hives. My skin would get bright red, itchy and feel like it was on fire.  My old products, like Cetaphil, Lubriderm, Kiehl’s lotion and shampoos, made me absolutely miserable.

I finally saw an allergist last week and did a hard core skin patch test (I could not get my back wet and could not shower for 3 days). I found out that I’m allergic to nickel and thiomersal. I’m hoping that I can avoid these and also avoid looking like a bright red tomato.

The past 2 years have been a vicious trial and error cycle to see which products I don’t react to. I thought I’d share my recommendations for products in case you have sensitive skin too!

Neutrogena Ultra Sheer

Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Sunblock ~$10

This is one of the few affordable sunblocks that doesn’t leave my skin feeling greasy. I do not recommend Neutrogena Skin Sunblock Lotion SPF 60+ (made my skin feel clay-like) or Neutrogena Pure & Free Baby Sunblock Lotion SPF 60 (the zinc oxide made my skin white and ghost-like).

EltaMD UV SHIELD SPF 45

EltaMD UV SHIELD SPF 45 ~$23

I use this sunscreen on my face and it has no fragrance. EltaMD is a popular recommendation from dermatologists.

The Skincare Night Moisture RechargShiseido The Skincare Night Moisture Recharge $42.50

It took me ages to find a night time lotion that I was not allergic. Worth every penny. The lotion is so lightweight that you can even wear it in the day. Doesn’t make my skin greasy at all but leaves a natural, luminescent glow.

Aveeno Daily Moisturizing LotionAveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion ~$7

I have no idea what is in Lubriderm but it made me swell up badly. I got one of the worst reactions from it. I highly recommend this lotion from Aveeno.

I’m still looking for a good eye cream so if anyone has any recommendation, feel free to suggest one!

2 thoughts on “Sensitive Skin

Leave a Reply

