SF Birthday Extravaganza II: Tapas in North Beach’s Campanula Kitchen and Bar

The birthday festivities continued with a fun group meal at Campanula Kitchen and Bar in San Francisco’s North Beach area. I first found out about Campanula from UrbanDaddy. Since North Beach is mostly, touristy Italian restaurants, I was definitely intrigued to try a tapas bar.

Burrata with Heirloom Tomatoes

Burrata with Heirloom Tomatoes

Mac and Cheese

Mac and Cheese

Beet Salad

Beet Salad

Lamb Meatballs

Lamb Meatballs

Pork Belly

Pork Belly

Osso Buco

Osso Buco

Overall, it was a really pleasant meal and I loved the ambiance of the restaurant. It was casual, but also “slick.” The service was very good and they really made my birthday special. Campanula has seasonal cocktails and I had the most delicious fig cocktail. That being said, there were dishes that were definitely much better than others.

The best dishes were the lamb meatballs, osso buco and mac and cheese. The lamb meatballs were amazing and I loved the sauce. I wanted a whole dish of that sauce just so I could dip my bread in it. The osso buco was super tender and just fell apart easily. The mac and cheese was also solid and I loved how they put bacon in it (bacon always makes everything better).

The most disappointing dish was the pork belly. It was bland as it looked (not going to lie… it looked anemic). I was also surprised that it wasn’t tender at all (considering how fatty pork belly is). The burrata cheese was pretty good, but I feel like I’ve had better and richer burrata at other restaurants (like at Berreta). Nothing was wrong with the beet salad, but it also wasn’t anything super impressive.

Ice Cream Sandwiches

Ice Cream Sandwiches

For dessert, we shared the homemade ice cream sandwiches and they were really good! The flavors were peanut butter and espresso. I would totally recommend those ice cream sandwiches if you go.

Campanula is a perfect place to have a group dinner because the food is all meant to be shared and the prices aren’t ridiculously expensive. Plus, they’re open until midnight on Friday and Saturday! I’d go back but avoid some of the dishes and try new ones too!

One thought on “SF Birthday Extravaganza II: Tapas in North Beach’s Campanula Kitchen and Bar

Leave a Reply

