Exploring China’s Zhu Jia Jiao

Zhu Jia Jiao

This weekend, I went to Zhu Jia Jiao (朱家角), a small city located in the Qing Pu district of Shanghai. Zhu Jia Jiao is west of Shanghai’s city center and it takes about an hour to drive there. It is most famous for being a water town that has been preserved for the past 1,700 years. Besides the old Chinese architecture, I was really fascinated by all the different types of food stands. I wanted to avoid food poisoning at all costs (a lot of the food is just sitting out in the open), so I didn’t try most of it. But, I did get to try a couple of really delicious things and take some interesting pictures of 零食 (snacks).

Zhong

Zhu Jia Jiao is well-known for its zhong (lotus wrapped rice on the far right) and its pork products (left).

Buns

These Chinese buns were filled with red bean paste. The top is crispy from semi-burnt sugar (think creme brûlée). I actually tried one of them and they were delicious (minus the red bean; I hate red bean).

Radish Croquette

She takes thinly sliced radish, dunks it in batter and deep-fries it.

Crackers

Scrumptious cracker-like bread that has green onions and sesame seeds mixed in. They’re nice and crispy and still warm when I ate one.

Calligraphy

Chinese calligraphy lays out to dry.

Western Restaurant

The only Western restaurant I saw in Zhu Jia Jiao was selling French crepes. I thought their advertising sign outside was pretty clever. You don’t have to travel as far to Paris in order to eat a crepe!

Sugar Lollipops

This man made beautiful lollipops out of semi-burnt sugar. He was so fast at making them!

Chinese Lollipops

The dragon was my favorite.

Preserved Vegetables

Only in China can you find preserved vegetables being sold in Sprite bottles.

Zhu Jia Jiao Bridge

Don’t worry! The sun did come out later at Zhu Jia Jiao!

Boats in Zhu Jia Jiao

Boat crossing

4 thoughts on “Exploring China’s Zhu Jia Jiao

    • Thank you! So glad you liked the photos. I think the sugar lollipops picture is my favorite. It definitely was nice to escape “city life” and see a different side of Shanghai.

    • I totally wasn’t thinking and didn’t buy one because I thought: “They’re too pretty eat.” I should have supported his business though! D’oh!

Leave a Reply

