Van Cleef & Arpels: They’re Not Objects; They’re Emotional Pieces

VC&A Orchid

Before I left Shanghai, I was able to visit Van Cleef & Arpels’ newest exhibit, Timeless Beauty, at the Museum of Contemporary Art. It was a breathtaking two-story exhibit with over 370 pieces, including jewelry, watches, accessories and archived drawings, from 1906 to 2010. I really enjoyed the short videos, highlighting the history of Van Cleef & Arpels at the Place Vendôme and the handwork behind these magnificent pieces. All together, I think there were seven videos and an hour of footage. If you’re headed to Paris in the near future, you’re in luck! The exhibit will be at the Musée des Arts Décoratifs from September 20, 2012 to February 10, 2013. You’ll have to see it in person because my digital camera does not do these pieces justice!

VC&A Display

The exhibit was meant to look like vines and plants.

VC&A Watch

I was in love with the enamel and diamond watches.

VC&A Chrysanthemum

Chrysanthemum Ruby Pin

VC&A Drawings

Original designs for VC&A pieces

VC&A Invoice

Thought this was so cool! The original invoice for a snuff bottle.

VC&A Emeralds

I wish my camera could have captured how green this set was (it looks more blue in this photo).

VC&A Display

One of the best displays that I’ve seen. They really highlighted the works and gave you a 360 degree view.

VC&A Grace Kelly

Princess Grace Kelly’s Collection

VC&A Catherine Deneuve

Yes, that is a 3D holograph of Catherine Deneuve explaining the collection.

VC&A Necklace

One of my favorite necklaces

VC&A Watch Night

I covet a Van Cleef & Arpels watch.

VC&A Display3

View of the display on the 2nd story.

2 thoughts on “Van Cleef & Arpels: They’re Not Objects; They’re Emotional Pieces

Leave a Reply

