Hello, Hong Kong!

Hong Kong Harbor

Taken my first night in Hong Kong

I still feel like I’m in a dream-like state and can’t believe I moved from Paris to Hong Kong. This will be my new home for the next 2+ months and it is actually the longest amount of time I’ve ever spent in this glorious city. I’m a little bit spoiled because I have family in Hong Kong (my grandmother has already well-fed me three times this week). I’m excited to get to know the city better and hopefully post some interesting updates! I thought I’d share a few pictures from the first week.

Tourist vs Local

Tourist vs. Locals

Junk Boat

I think I’m going to have to ride on of those junk boats before I leave.

Rubber Duck Hong Kong

Who doesn’t like a giant six-story rubber duck? Installation by Dutch artist, Florentijin Hofman.

It was a perfect time to be in Hong Kong because my friends and I got to attend Art|Basel’s first show in Hong Kong. It was a huge exhibit of modern and contemporary art held at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre.

Art Basel Hong Kong1

Left: This painting was incredible with the aerial shot of people; Right: Close-up.

Art Basel Hong Kong2

Left: Classmate and I posing; Right: I really liked the Lotus glass lanterns.

Art Basel Hong Kong3

The painting in the bottom right corner was one of my favorites.

It was a great first week despite the incessant thunderstorms. We survived our first episode of “black rain.” Black rain is when it is raining so hard that the sky turns black and everyone is ordered not to go into work or school until it calms down. We missed that memo and showed up to work anyways.

Looking forward to what is in store the next couple of months!

HK Night

Always vibrant in Hong Kong

Leave a Reply

