Recipe: Minced Chicken Lettuce Cups

Minced Chicken Lettuce Cup

We’ve been experiencing crazy typhoon weather in Hong Kong (typhoon 8 warning) and so my will to go outside is very limited. More time indoors leads to more time to cook. Since I don’t have an oven and have a small “kitchen,” I needed something easy that doesn’t require a lot of ingredients. I was inspired by Amy’s Turkey Lettuce Wraps. This simple stir-fry is great because you can use practically any leftover vegetables you have in your fridge– almost like a chop suey.

Prep

Left: Key sauces; top right: Getting the veggies ready; bottom right: Mince, mince, mince!

Stir-frying ingredients

Stir-frying ingredients

My pan is really small so I could only make a small portion. Feel free to double the recipe! Since my time in Hong Kong is transient, I don’t have a lot of sauces. I made suggestions at the end on how you could enhance this recipe too.

Minced Chicken Lettuce Cups

Makes about 4-6 lettuce cups

Ingredients

  • 300 grams of ground chicken (approx. 0.67 lbs) or ground turkey
  • 6 romaine lettuce leaves or Bibb lettuce leaves
  • 5 water chestnuts (canned)
  • 1/4 red or yellow bell pepper
  • 1/4 red or yellow onion
  • 1 celery stalk
  • 4 white button mushrooms
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 2 tablespoons of soy sauce
  • 1 and 1/2 tablespoons of oyster sauce
  • 1 and 1/2 teaspoons of sugar
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil or canola oil

Directions

  • Rinse and clean lettuce leaves and set aside in colander to dry
  • Rinse, clean and then mince all vegetables
  • Bring a stir-fry pan to medium heat and add oil
  • Sauté garlic and onions for 2-3 minutes
  • Add ground meat and cook for 4-5 minutes while breaking up the meat
  • Add 1 tablespoon of soy sauce while you stir-fry the meat with onions and garlic
  • Add all the remaining vegetables and stir-fry for an additional 2-3 minutes; add 1 tablespoon of soy sauce, oyster sauce and sugar with the vegetables
  • Dry lettuce leaves with paper towels, spoon in mixture and enjoy!

I minced everything finely except for the water chestnuts. I enjoy the crunchy texture of water chestnuts so I cut those coarsely.

Additions

If I had some fresh ginger, I would have definitely minced that up and added it to the mix. I can see adding in a little bit of sesame oil at the end to give it a fragrant kick. Also, I really love lining my lettuce cups with some hoisin sauce. Since I wanted it spicier, I also added Tabasco sauce, but I bet it would be even better with some Sriracha sauce. Topping the minced lettuce cups with some crushed peanuts would be another excellent add-on!

Minced Chicken Lettuce Cups Finished

Finished Dish!

6 thoughts on “Recipe: Minced Chicken Lettuce Cups

Leave a Reply

