RBJello’s Beauty Finds

Skin Analysis

Skin Analysis

When I was in Singapore, I did a skin analysis with one of those machines that look like they came straight off a UFO. The skin analysis was very in-depth with percentile rankings for wrinkles, UV damage, brown spots, bacteria and so much more. It was actually a scary exercise because it made me feel old!

I told my beauty consultant that I have extremely sensitive skin so I was limited by the products she could recommend to me. I wanted to share some of the products she introduced to me and some of my old stand-by favorites too.

Daily Exfoliating Cream

Jurlique Daily Exfoliating Cream $25 (and up) 

My mother actually introduced me to Jurlique’s hand cream a few years ago so this Australian brand has been on my radar for awhile. The beauty consultant recommended this as a daily exfoliator and I’m absolutely hooked. Most of the ingredients are natural, including oats, green tea, macadamia oil and honey. It comes out as a thick paste that smells sweet from the honey and you mix it with water in the palm of your hands. Afterward,  you apply it to your face in a “press and release” motion (no circular scrubbing). It is incredibly gentle to use every day and my face feels smooth and hydrated afterward.

Shiseido Multi-Defense UV Protector

Shiseido Multi-Defense UV Protector SPF 50 ~$48

If you’re a long-time reader of this blog, you probably already know how I’m a religious Shiseido fan. It is one of the few skincare lines that I’m not allergic to. After this skin consultation, I learned that my sunscreen SPF was not high enough. I was introduced to Shiseido’s Multi-Defense UV Protector. It’s incredibly lightweight (comes out as a very thin liquid) and my skin absorbs it really quickly without feeling oily. There’s a little bit of a scent and it’s not my favorite smell in the world, but I can live with it. It’s a small bottle (about 3-4 inches in height) so you can throw it in your purse and take it to-go easily.

Apparently, this particular product is only being sold in Asia, but Shiseido offers similar products in the U.S., like their Urban Environment Oil-Free UV Protector. Kiehl’s also sells a similar product, Super Fluid UV Defense SPF 50+. I used it many years ago, but I’m allergic to it now.

Shiseido White Lucent Brightening Spot Control Base UV

Shiseido White Lucent Brightening Spot-Control Base UV SPF 35 ~$40

I don’t like wearing foundation so this is a nice compromise. Shiseido has three shades in this UV base: 1) Ivory– to correct uneven skin tone, 2) Pink– to correct dull or yellowish skin and 3) Green– to neutralize redness. The pink and green tones are really meant to be used as spot control so I bought the ivory shade and apply it to my entire face. It is a light color that blends in well with my skin color and it does exactly what it advertises– corrects uneven skin tone. If you have a darker complexion, I would not recommend this product because it will be way too light.

This is another product that is only sold in Asia (I’m sorry, people. I live in Hong Kong now!), but Shiseido offers Urban Environment Tinted UV Protector in three shades, ranging from light to dark. In case you are wondering, you should apply this after putting on sunscreen.

Dior Addict Lip Glow

Dior Addict Lip Glow $31

I discovered Dior Addict Lip Glow in Paris. My friend from the UK highly recommended it and I am officially obsessed. It is a sheer beauty balm that reacts to the chemistry of your lips to form a perfect, natural shade of pink. This isn’t false advertising. I tried it out with three of my girlfriends at the same time; it looked different on all of us! I love it because it won’t dry our your lips or form weird clumps because it’s an actual lip balm. My lips feel super hydrated whenever I apply it (thank you, mango butter) and I definitely recommend you try it out for yourself.

Do you have any beauty products that you simply can’t live without? Feel free to write about them in the comments because we all know that sharing is caring!

2 thoughts on “RBJello’s Beauty Finds

Leave a Reply

