Hong Kong: Mak Man Kee Noodle Shop, Crumbs Yogurt and Australia Dairy Company

Won Ton Noodles at 麥文記麵家 (Mak Man Kee Noodle Shop)

Won Ton Noodles at 麥文記麵家 (Mak Man Kee Noodle Shop)

My friend Jason from Singapore was in town so I grabbed lunch with him and his Hong Kong friend. They took me to the Jordan neighborhood, which I had never visited before.

Jason’s friend was born and raised in Hong Kong and is an expert on the best places to eat. They took me to Parkes Street with three awesome establishments that are all next to each other: Mak Man Kee Noodle Shop, Crumbs Yogurt and Australia Dairy Company.

Mak Man Kee at 51 Parkes Street

Mak Man Kee at 51 Parkes Street

Apparently, there are many branches of Mak’s noodle houses, but you want to go to the one at 51 Parkes Street (麥文記麵家). It took me 15 minutes of Googling to even figure out the name of the restaurant since everything was in Chinese and I don’t know how to speak Cantonese. It’s a small hole-in-the-wall that is absolutely packed with people eating inside and others ordering food to-go.

Beef Brisket and Shrimp Roe Noodles

Beef Brisket and Shrimp Roe Noodles

We feasted on won ton noodles, beef brisket, chives with oyster sauce and shrimp roe noodles. Unlike in the U.S., won ton noodles in Hong Kong are actually served in very small portions with not a lot of soup. I’m OK with that because it leaves more room in my stomach for beef brisket.

These were some of the best won ton noodles I’ve ever had. The noodles had excellent consistency, like al dente pasta, and the won ton shrimp dumplings were big and so fresh. I was even happier with the beef brisket, which was tender and flavorful. I honestly believe it’s one of the best meals I’ve had in Hong Kong.

Crumbs Yogurt

Crumbs Yogurt

Right next to Mak Man Kee is Crumbs, a frozen yogurt store. What makes them unique is that they also bake scones and you can order your frozen yogurt with scone crumbs. I thought it was a great idea and I wondered why this craze hadn’t hit the U.S. Maybe, scones are distinctly British and go hand-in-hand with Hong Kong? Who knows? Jason told me that while it’s not the best frozen yogurt in the universe, it’s good with the crumbs.

Australia Dairy Company

Australia Dairy Company

On the other side of Mak Man Kee is Australia Dairy Company. It’s one of the most famous restaurants in Hong Kong and the lines were ridiculously long. I didn’t really want to wait, but my interest was peaked. I wanted to try their steamed milk and steamed egg. Jason’s friend actually told me that their most famous dish was their scrambled eggs and toast. I honestly wondered how good scrambled eggs and toast could be.

Steamed Milk and Hokkaido Milk on Display

Steamed Milk and Hokkaido Milk on Display

We waited in the line that actually moved quite quickly and were seated at a communal table, full of rude waiters and loud shouting. If you want an authentic Hong Kong experience, look no further. At Australia Dairy Company, they use Hokkaido milk, which is special milk from Japan. Apparently, the milk comes from cows that breathe the freshest air and roam free in Hokkaido. The milk is supposed to have a distinct taste and be extremely creamy.

Iced Milk Tea; Scrambled Eggs with Toast; Steamed Milk and Steamed Egg

Iced Milk Tea; Scrambled Eggs with Toast; Steamed Milk and Steamed Egg

We ordered steamed milk, steamed egg, scrambled eggs with toast and an iced milk tea. The steamed milk and egg were passable. The ones at Yee Shun Milk Company are much better. However, my milk tea was awesome because it was really creamy and smooth and the eggs with toast blew me away. I’ve never had eggs like this before. I think they must be cooked in a wok over high heat with a lot of oil. They were fluffy and tasty and had a unique consistency. They’re hard to describe, but I hope you try them out for yourself. It’s actually worth waiting in line.

The highlight of the day was Mak Man Kee Noodle Shop. I can’t wait to go back and devour those delicious won tons again!

5 thoughts on “Hong Kong: Mak Man Kee Noodle Shop, Crumbs Yogurt and Australia Dairy Company

Leave a Reply

