Hong Kong: Fried Goodness at Saboten Japanese Cutlet

Tonkatsu Lunch Set at Saboten in Hong Kong

Tonkatsu Lunch Set at Saboten in Hong Kong

Few things in life bring me as much joy as a perfectly cooked tonkatsu. Luckily, I found that happiness at Saboten Japanese Cutlet (42 Yun Ping Road). Saboten is located in Causeway Bay at the lower ground floor of Henry House.

Unlimited salad, pickles and rice served at Saboten

Unlimited salad, pickles and rice served at Saboten

My good friend had been raving about Saboten for months. He finally had the chance to take me and I can see what all the fuss is about. Besides having the classic, deep-fried pork cutlet, Saboten also serves deep-fried “rolls.” My lunch special came with a small tonkatsu, chicken cheese roll and crab croquette. What makes it even better is that they serve unlimited rice, salads and pickled vegetables!

Grinding the black and white sesame seeds

Grinding the black and white sesame seeds

Saboten was unique to me because they also serve special black and white sesame seeds. Each person got their own bowl of the mixture and you use a pestle to grind it into a fine powder. Afterward, you could add as much tonkatsu sauce as you wanted. The sesame seeds made the tonkatsu sauce richer and more complex. I absolutely adored it.

Saboten in Hong Kong

I definitely liked the classic tokatsu best. It is fried perfectly without being too greasy and there is a thick layer of breadcrumbs surrounding the meat. The chicken cheese roll reminded me of a fancier Chicken Cordon Bleu. I did not like the crab croquette because there was too much mayo and it was too mushy. I felt like it wasn’t a good combination with the fried breadcrumbs. When I go back, I will definitely stick to the normal tonkatstu, but I think I’ll try it with curry sauce next!

Leave a Reply

