Hong Kong: Seafood Feast at Lei Yue Mun

Entrance of Lei Yue Mun in Hong Kong

Entrance of Lei Yue Mun in Hong Kong

I know I haven’t been gone that long, but I’ve missed Hong Kong. Don’t get me wrong– I love Shanghai, but I was all too happy to return and eat at some of my favorite restaurants. This was my first time going to Hong Kong’s famous seafood district at Lei Yue Mun. While I had been to seafood districts before, I think Lei Yue Mun is the biggest one in Hong Kong.

Lei Yue Mun Outside

Top left (clockwise): Hanging fishtails, lighted decorations and fruit and fish stalls at Lei Yue Mun.

I would definitely recommend you go with a local/someone who speaks Cantonese. It was a little overwhelming getting heckled by multiple fishmongers and my Mandarin probably would have been useless. Luckily, my family friends handled all of the ordering. Each fish stall has relationships with certain restaurants. Since we already had a reservation at Sea King Garden, we went specifically to the designated stall (I can’t remember the name now).

Lei Yue Mun Seafood

Lei Yue Mun Seafood2

There is a cornucopia of choices and you actually order and pay at the fish stall. By the time you get to the restaurant, everything is already taken care of. This was literally the best seafood meal I’ve ever had. Everything was so incredibly fresh and the seafood was slightly sweet with an umami flavor. I had never experienced it before.

Walking toward Sea King Garden Restaurant

Walking toward Sea King Garden Restaurant

We had SO much food, including steamed scallops with rice noodles, garlic and soy sauce; black bean razor clams; ginger and green onion crab, lobster and lobster noodles in a cheese sauce; and deep-fried fish with bitter melon.

Scallops, Razor Clams, Crab and Fish

Top left (clockwise): Scallops, Razor Clams, Crab and Fish

Pièce de résistance: Lobster and noodles in a creamy cheese sauce

Pièce de résistance: Lobster and noodles in a creamy cheese sauce. It was good but so incredibly rich!

Going to Lei Yue Mun is definitely a unique Hong Kong experience and it is worth the $100+ HKD cab ride. You’ll be rewarded with some of the best seafood you’ll ever eat in your life. Just bring a savvy local! There are so many fish stalls that I’m assuming some restaurants are better than others. I really recommend making reservations and going to Sea King  Garden.

3 thoughts on “Hong Kong: Seafood Feast at Lei Yue Mun

Leave a Reply

