Shanghai: Brunch and Coffee on Yong Kang Road

Coffee at Farmhouse Café

Coffee at Farmhouse Café

Brunch is quickly becoming my favorite meal in Shanghai. This is probably obvious based on my recent posts at Shanghai Brewery and Madison. When Lana texted me for an impromptu brunch on a warm Shanghai day (that warmth only lasted one day), I couldn’t pass on the opportunity.

A glimpse of Yong Kang Road

A glimpse of Yong Kang Road

Yong Kang Road is a popular street now that has been converted to a bunch of restaurants, bars and boutique stores. It always amazes me how quickly Shanghai changes because that section of the street used to be a wet market. Now, it’s a hot bed of expats and it basically feels like I never left America.

Bubbles/Farmhouse Cafe

Bubbles/Farmhouse Café

Lana took me to Bubbles/Farmhouse Café (67 Yong Kang Road; 永康路67号). It’s a little confusing because the sign outside says “Big Bubbles, No Troubles,” but the interior says Farmhouse Café. She explained that she thinks the restaurant changed owners, hence the perplexing signage. I was just happy to have a good cup of coffee in Shanghai.

Omelette and Chicken Pita Sandwich with Pumpkin Soup

Omelette and Chicken Pita Sandwich with Pumpkin Soup

Lana ordered an omelette with sausage, ham, cheese and tomatoes. It was served open-faced and looked absolutely scrumptious. I opted for the chicken and avocado pita sandwich, which came with pumpkin soup. I wasn’t expecting the filling of my sandwich to be pre-mixed with pesto and rocket lettuce, but it tasted really good so I didn’t mind. I really liked how my pita was slightly crispy since they had lightly toasted it. The pita actually reminded me of what I used to eat in college on the on-campus quick Wolfgang Puck eatery. I used to always order chicken pesto pita sandwiches so I was instantly transported back to college while eating at Farmhouse Café. The food was fresh and simple and reasonably priced. I would happily go back, especially on a lazy Saturday/Sunday.

Café del Volcan

Café del Volcan

Artist at work

Artist at work

After brunch, Lana and I stopped by Café Del Volcan (80 Yong Kang Road; 永康路80号, across the street from Farmhouse), which was the cutest coffee shop. I loved watching the barista make each cup of coffee with love and care and it reminded me a little bit of Blue Bottle Coffee in San Francisco. I will definitely have to back to try some of their pastries/coffee. I just loved the decor and everything about the place and went a little snap-happy inside the store. Can’t wait to go back soon and maybe enjoy another brunch.

Cafe Del Volcan Inside

I have never seen such detailed light labels.

Leave a Reply

