Lugano Wedding at Castello di Morcote

rbjello|Picturesque Lugano Wedding

Picturesque Locale for a Lugano Wedding

The downside to living in China is that I’m missing all of my friends’ weddings. It’s just too difficult to fly halfway around the world to attend ceremonies when my vacation (and monetary funds) are limited. When one of my closest friends from my MBA program announced over a year ago that she was going to get married in Lugano, I made it my goal to attend. It was an absolutely stunning wedding at Castello di Morcote, an old castle from the 15th century that is now a vineyard.

Apertivo

Apertivo

In true Italian style, we had an apertivo at the top of the mountain with an awesome band and fantastic views of the lake. After the sun set, we moved to a private tent to enjoy dinner.

Lugano Wedding2

It truly was a once in a lifetime opportunity and I was so happy to be a part of the celebration. This trip was especially meaningful to me because I didn’t attend my MBA graduation in Paris (I was at a job interview in China). Another one of my classmates travelled from Tokyo to attend and the three of us hadn’t been reunited in over two years. It was a double celebration– a wedding and a reunion!

Lago di Lugano

Lago di Lugano

Lugano City Center + Food!

Lugano City Center + Food!

Lugano is a charming city and very reminiscent of Lake Como. The city center revolves around the lake and I loved just how quaint the whole city was. It’s very walkable and there were tons of restaurants and fresh fruit/produce markets. The food was also absolutely delicious and we feasted on pasta and pizza. Obviously, the prices are more expensive in Switzerland compared to Italy, but nothing disappointed our palates.

Lugano Boat Ride

Boat Ride

Colorful Houses in Lugano

Colorful Houses in Lugano

One activity that I would HIGHLY recommend is renting out a small, motorized boat for an hour or two to explore the lake. Keep an eye out for boats that have a small, built-in awning so you have some shade in the hot heat. While you could rent a paddle boat, that is absolutely exhausting and not relaxing. It was definitely one of the coolest experiences to be out on the open water and admiring all of the houses.

If you have a chance to visit Lugano, I’d recommend staying at Hotel Walter au Lac. It a boutique hotel that is located right on the lake and in the center of the city. It’s extremely convenient and gives you a chance to really enjoy what Lugano has to offer!

Congratulations to the Happy Couple!

Congratulations to the Happy Couple!

Leave a Reply

