Shanghai: Lizzy’s All-Natural Juice Cleanse

Lizzy's All-Natural Juices Photo Credit: kateandkimi.com

Lizzy’s All-Natural Juices | Photo Credit: kateandkimi.com

I am anti-juice cleansing. This is not me passing judgement on those who juice. I am anti-juicing because I do not think I can survive that long without solid food. I’d rather cut off my left pinkie toe than juice for multiple days.

So why did I juice? Was it for weight loss? Glowing skin? An extra boost of energy? No, no, and no. Trust me, I would not give up solid food for any of those reasons. To spare you of any graphic details, I was having digestion and stomach issues. It actually got better before my juice cleanse, but I decided to move forward and commit to a 3-day cleanse anyways.

There are a few juicing options in Shanghai and I did my research. I chose Lizzy’s All-Natural for a few reasons. One was the price because each day is 188 kuai, which is cheaper than other competitors. The second reason was that it seemed like her juice cleanse had less fruit-based blends. I had heard feedback from others who tried juice cleanses from other companies and they told me that they felt like there was just too much sugar and didn’t make them feel good. Also, I compared Lizzy’s to other juicing cleanses and it seemed like there was less juice to drink per day (so also less sugar/day). You can also only order delivery through the online grocer, Kate & Kimi, which has much more flexible delivery times. Other places only delivered from 6-9 p.m. Finally, I chose Lizzy’s because she has a “cheat sheet” of food you can eat in case you feel like you really can’t survive. As a first time juice cleanser, I liked having this safety net and flexibility.

Day 1

8:30 a.m.
As advised, I drink a glass of hot water and lemon and then move on to my first drink of the day, “The Refresher.” This juice has coconut water, cucumber, watermelon, lime, mint, kale and chia seeds. Drinking green juice in the morning doesn’t seem like a huge sacrifice. I notice that it’s not very sweet, which is good and I mostly taste mint. I try and follow their advice of “chewing” as much as possible so I liked having the chia seeds to chew on.

11:15 a.m.
My second drink is the “Youth & Beauty” with avocado, kale, pineapple, banana, mint and coconut water. Having the avocado gives it a thicker texture, which also helps for chewing. I was expecting it to be creamier with the avocado. I taste mostly banana in this drink and it’s less sweet than I anticipated.

1:00 p.m.
I try the elixir shot, “Lemon Detoxifier.” and my mouth is on fire. Literally on fire. I take a much larger gulp than I realize that I’m suppose to and it was WAY spicier than I expected. Is this how you stave off hunger by burning off all the taste buds in my mouth? How can something so small be so spicy? Besides the taste of chili, this elixir tastes like fermented dried plums to me, kind of like Chinese-style dried plums (话梅). My co-workers have microwaved their lunches and are eating at their desks. Wafts of soy sauce and garlic fill the air. I take another gulp of my spicy elixir and my lips tingle slightly. Am I supposed to mix the elixir with water because I’m drinking it straight?*

1:30 p.m.
“The Skinny” is matcha green tea, cranberries, apple, pear, cucumber, raw  honey and lemon. Since this is the only fruit smoothie, I’m expecting it to be sweeter. Surprisingly, it’s not very sweet either and I taste mostly cucumber. There’s a sandy texture thanks to the pear and it also helps make the smoothie chewable.

3:30 p.m.
I start feeling hunger pangs and decide to try the “Coco Chia” elixir. I’m hoping the fiber and protein in the seeds will hold me over. It’s a refreshing shot that tastes of mint and a hint of lemon. It doesn’t burn my mouth with the heat of a thousand suns like the last spicy elixir. I chase my elixir with a cup of hot tea, secretly hoping it’ll help expand the chia seeds in my belly and make me feel more full.

5:00 p.m.
I’m feeling “hungry.” I don’t know if I’m actually hungry or my brain is psychologically tricking itself that it’s hungry because I haven’t had solid food all day. I’m drinking “Green Elixir” which has romaine, kale, celery, apple, pear, banana, spirulina, lemon and filtered water. My first reaction is: “Ew, this is salty.” I take a second sip and all I can taste is spirulina. It tastes mostly like celery and seaweed. Kind of wishing that the banana flavor would overpower everything, but it’s not. For some reason, the aftertaste in my mouth taste like Chinese-style dried plums again (话梅). I guess there are worse aftertastes in life.

This is my least favorite juice. This is probably the healthiest juice, which is probably why it’s my least favorite. Why do they make this juice number 4? It seems slightly tortuous to have this juice toward the later half of the day. I’ve noticed that all of these juices are thick and can now understand why Lizzy’s calls them “smoothies.” You get a straw for each smoothie and it’s needed.

6:30 p.m.
I take a quick shot of my last elixir, “Goji Tang.” Yes, it definitely has a tang and a more sour taste.

8:00 p.m.
I’m feeling tired and looking forward to my last juice of the day, “Sweet Vanilla Cashew Milk.” Based on the description of raw cashew milk, vanilla, Himalayan pink salt and medjool dates, I’m expecting this to be the most satisfying one. I’m expecting it to be sweet and thick like the other smoothies. I have to admit that I was slightly disappointed because this was the most thin and watery drink and it’s not very sweet at all. I guess I really shouldn’t complain because the reason why I picked Lizzy’s was for less sugar. Since it’s thinner, I drink it quickly and am left wanting more.

10:30 p.m.
I’m seriously hungry and my stomach is growling. I drink hot water with lemon juice and hope I can sleep.

*I emailed Kate & Kimi and their customer service recommended drinking the elixirs directly or mixing with warm water. However, “if you can handle drinking it alone, it is more efficient.”

Day 2

8:30 a.m.
Lizzy’s delivers the juices in a small cooler with an ice pack (super convenient). For my first delivery, I had ordered two days worth of juices. I open my new pack and discovered that the assortment of juices are different! It was a really nice surprise and actually made me feel more positive about my 2nd day of juicing. On other juice cleanses with other companies, they give you the exact same juices every single day. I feel like the lack of variety would get tiring and fast.

My first juice is the “Green Elixir,” the same as juice number 4 the day before. This was my least favorite, but at least I was mentally prepared for the salty seaweed taste. I was also happy that this was juice number 1 and I was getting it over with first.

11:15 a.m.
Second juice of the day is “Vital Greens,” which has a wheatgrass shot, pineapple, spinach, romaine, apple, ginger, lime and filtered water. The wheatgrass shot gives the whole drink a very fibrous texture like munching on celery. I’m happy that the two major flavors I’m tasting is pineapple and wheatgrass. The pineapple is helping to overpower other flavors.

12:50 p.m.
I have a bit of a headache and am hungry. I take the “Goji Tang” elixir shots. My co-workers are eating potsticker dumplings at their desk and they smell amazing.

1:30 p.m.
My fruit smoothie of the day is “Pot of Gold” and has strawberries, blueberries, mango, banana, coconut water, hemp protein powder and agave. Out of all the drinks that I’ve had, this is the sweetest one. I taste mostly banana and the protein powder. I’m seriously feeling more hungry today compared to yesterday. I drink a cup of hot tea and try not to think about food.

3:50 p.m.
“Coco Chia” elixir time. I’m really digging the chia seeds and am thinking about buying some to incorporate in my daily diet.

5:00 p.m.
“Wild Greens” is romaine, cilantro, pineapple, spinach, apple, ginger, lemon and filtered water. I’m not enjoying this drink, but that’s mostly because I hate cilantro. The two most prominent tastes are cilantro and apple. However, when I compare this to “Green Elixir,” it’s hard to tell which one I dislike more. Minus the fact that all I can taste is cilantro, this smoothie is actually light and has a crisp, refreshing factor to it. Must be the ginger.

All that is motivating me right now is knowing that Day 2 is almost over and I’m already past the half-way mark. I’ve also received my delivery of juice for the last day and I am seriously impressed. Lizzy’s has sent some different juices once again. This helps bring a level of energy and excitement as I anticipate what tomorrow’s new flavors will taste like. I’m pretty grateful that it helps break up the monotony of juicing.

6:30 p.m.
“Lemon Detoxifier” is just as spicy as before. Must learn to take smaller sips.

7:45 p.m.
“Chocolate coconut almond milk” is raw almond milk, cacao powder, medjool date, coconut oil and Himalayan pink salt. I did not realize that the almond milk only has a shelf life of 24 hours and so I should have drank it yesterday. Pay attention if you order 2 days worth of juice in a row and be sure to drink almond milk as soon as possible. Hopefully my almond milk did not spoil because I drank it anyways (it tasted OK).

Wow, this coconut almond milk is delicious. It reminds me of drinking less sweet chocolate milk. This was definitely more satisfying than the “Sweet Vanilla Cashew Milk” from last night. I would seriously consider ordering this almond milk again. I drink a mug of hot water and lemon juice just in case my almond milk has turned and I need to flush it out of my system faster.

Day 3

8:30 a.m.
Last day of the cleanse! I start my day with the “Green Elixir.” Maybe, I’m used to the taste now, but it seems to be less seaweed tasting and more apple/pear flavor.

9:45 a.m.
Since Kate & Kimi require 200RMB minimum for free delivery, I had ordered the “Sweet Mocha” coffee drink. It’s cold-brewed coffee, almond milk, bananas, dates, cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla and cacao powder. Originally, I was going to save this drink for after my cleanse, but I keep staring at it and decide I want to drink it now. This coffee drink is quite nice and isn’t too sweet. The banana flavor isn’t too overpowering and I’m enjoying this much more than the overly sweet Starbucks bottled frappuccinos. I had roughly calculated based on the nutritional value on Kate & Kimi’s website that I’m consuming less than 1,000 calories/day on this juice cleanse. I decide that adding an extra drink won’t ruin me. Note: This calculation was based on adding of the calories for each individual bottle of juice, but I did not have data for the elixirs. If you’re curious, please confirm exact daily calorie amount with Lizzy’s directly.

11:45 a.m.
My stomach is actually growling a little bit and I feel a little hungry. This could be because I went off-cleanse and had that coffee drink. I’m guessing the sugar in the drink affected my blood sugar. My bad. I really wanted that coffee drink though and have no regrets.

“Wild Greens” tastes like cilantro. Shudder. Takes large gulps of water to wash the taste of cilantro out of my mouth.

1:30 p.m.
My daily fruit smoothie is “Paradise Island” and has mango, pineapple, coconut water, coconut oil, lime, mesquite and ginger. This smoothie is SO good and it’s sweeter. Because of the coconut oil, I can really taste the coconut flavor, which pairs well with the mango. I’m drinking this and feeling like I’m being transported to a tropical island. Besides the chocolate coconut almond milk that I had last night, this is the best smoothie that I’ve had. I would gladly order it again from Lizzy’s.

2:30 p.m.
Feeling kind of hungry so I drink the “Coco Chia” elixir.

4:40 p.m.
“Liver Detox” is spinach, parsley, lime, ginger, chlorella, apple, celery and honey. I find this green juice less offensive than the “Wild Greens” and “Green Elixir” smoothies. Maybe it’s the honey that makes it a little bit sweeter. I taste mostly apple and celery and the drink is definitely fibrous from the celery. I’m just happy this is my last green juice.

5:30 p.m.
My resistance to spiciness of “Lemon Detoxifier” seems to have improved. I can take larger sips without feeling like my mouth is on fire.

6:45 p.m.
I take my last “Goji Tang” elixir and then I drink the “Sweet Maple Almond Milk.” It has raw almond milk, maple syrup, cinnamon and nutmeg. This almond milk is also very tasty and creamy. Even though there is no vanilla, I taste vanilla for some reason. I like this flavor too and would order it again.

Final Thoughts

This was the first and last time that I’ll ever do a juice cleanse. It’s mostly mental to not eat for three days straight, but I just found myself obsessively thinking about food the entire time. I couldn’t wait to start eating solid food again and it made me feel kind of miserable. It didn’t cut any sugar cravings and I just found myself craving bad food anymore. I think that’s just my personality and what happens when I “deprive” myself. I can’t even begin to imagine to do a 5 or 10-day juice cleanse.

The juice cleanse seemed to help my digestion, which was the key reason to do it. I didn’t experience a change in energy, but I should also state that I didn’t sleep well during my juice cleanse. There was heavy rain in Shanghai and found myself waking up in the middle of the night because of it. I didn’t notice any difference in my skin, but I definitely noticed that my stomach was flatter. I think any weight lost will quickly come back once I started eating normal food again.

If you are interested a juice cleanse in Shanghai, I would recommend Lizzy’s All Natural. They deliver the juices in a mini cooler with an ice pack, which is very easy for transportation. I was able to keep the cooler and ice by my desk all day and the juices stayed cold so I didn’t have to go back and forth to the kitchen. I thought the price point was much more reasonable than other juice cleanses and I really liked the fact they changed the juice flavors each day. That was needed because it’s already painful enough to go on a cleanse.

I would happily order juices from Lizzy’s again and I really liked the almond milk. I can check going on a juice cleanse off the bucket list now.

2 thoughts on “Shanghai: Lizzy’s All-Natural Juice Cleanse

  1. I did a couple of these earlier this year, also mostly due to stomach issues. I liked that there was more veggie content than other juice companies! Ultimately, though, the only thing that cured my months-long health issues was leaving China…my stomach hasn’t had a problem since!

Leave a Reply

