Shanghai: Wellington Wednesday at Coquille

Coquille: Beef Wellington

Coquille: Beef Wellington

I’ve blogged about dinner at Coquille (29-31 Mengzi Road; 蒙自路29–31号)before, but I have been dying to try their beef wellington for months. Every Wednesday, you can reserve a beef wellington, which is as delicious as it is beautiful.

Face as size reference for golden beef wellington

Face as size reference for golden beef wellington

Served with au jus, mashed potatoes and roasted asparagus

Served with au jus, mashed potatoes and roasted asparagus

Coquille’s beef wellington is Australian tenderloin wrapped in foie gras, black truffle and mushroom spread, and proscuitto. All of this is wrapped in a golden pastry envelope. The wellington is served with au jus, roasted asparagus and mashed potatoes. It was nice to have a little bit of green on the plate to help cut the richness of the dish.

A sight so wonderful

A sight so wonderful

I was in awe of just how delicious this wellington was. The crust was so buttery and flaky and still slightly crispy. The beef was SO tender and one of the best pieces of red meat that I’ve had in Shanghai. I loved that it was cooked rare/medium rare. Seared foie gras is one of my favorite things in life and the combination with the beef was pure heaven. Having the mushroom and proscuitto helped add some more salt and complexity to the whole dish.

Wellington5

When you arrive at the restaurant, you still have to wait about 40 minutes before the wellington is served. Resist eating appetizers because it’ll be worth having that extra room in your stomach. It’s quite a lot of food for two people. My friend and I definitely rolled ourselves home afterward. I think it would be the perfect amount of food for 3 people.

Wellington3

Coquille’s beef wellington is about 650 RMB (including the sides) so it’s definitely a dish worth ordering for a special occasion. I would love to bring my parents sometime and it would be a great meal to celebrate Father’s Day. It was one of the best meals of my life and I can’t wait to have another “excuse” to eat it again.

Wellington6

 

Leave a Reply

