Thanksgiving #3 in Shanghai

Thanksgiving in Shanghai

Thanksgiving in Shanghai

It amazes me how quickly time passes and how I’m celebrating my third Thanksgiving in Shanghai. This was my 5th Thanksgiving ever spent away from my family. In some ways, you think it would get easier, but I do miss celebrating with my family in California.

Food Table Setting

Food Table Setting

I almost thought that I wouldn’t celebrate Thanksgiving this year. For the past two years, Lana has hosted Thanksgiving at Boxing Cat Brewery. But alas, Lana left Shanghai earlier this year and I didn’t really have too many American friends who could relate.

Ice Bucket for Wine

ICE BUCKET FOR WINE. I can’t believe she took the time to freeze it overnight.

As luck would have it, I made a brand-new friend who graciously invited me to her house for Thanksgiving meal. This girl makes EVERYTHING from scratch and spends a week prepping for the meal. I knew it was going to be epic, but I literally had no idea.

Gorgeous garlands hanging from the ceiling

Gorgeous garlands hanging from the ceiling

I felt the need to blog about Thanksgiving so that someone could showcase her beautiful meal. When I arrived in her apartment, I was stunned. It was a gorgeous table setting with so much attention to detail. All the guests were joking how Pinterest-worthy her decorations were and I couldn’t agree more. In truth, it made me feel like I’m going to be an inadequate wife/mother because I could never put any event together as beautifully as she did.

Thanksgiving Meal

Thanksgiving Meal

As if the room decoration wasn’t enough, she made: roast turkey, baked brie, peas, roasted corn, mashed potatoes, stuffing, sweet potatoes, brussel sprout and kale salad,corn bread and cranberry sauce all from scratch. Oh, and 4 pies. Yes, 4 pies! If I had to do Thanksgiving in my house, it would take a month to prepare all that food.

4 pies!

4 pies!

Anyways, I wanted to thank my friend for inviting me to her lovely home and making this year’s Thanksgiving less lonely. Wherever you celebrate this year, I wish you a very Happy Thanksgiving from Shanghai!

4 thoughts on “Thanksgiving #3 in Shanghai

Leave a Reply

