Shanghai: Japanese Sukiyaki at Ri He 日和

Ri He | Sukiyaki

Ri He | Sukiyaki

Sukiyaki is one of my favorite dishes and whenever I see it on the menu, I’m always tempted to order it. I love sukiyaki because the broth is slightly sweet from the soy sauce, mirin and sugar base. When Austin Hu could not stop singing the praises of the sukiyaki at Ri He 日和, I knew that I had to try it. Located a little further in Gubei, Ri He (4th floor of 130 Ziyun Xi Lu; 紫云西路130号4楼 ) serves sukiyaki, Japanese hot pot, sashimi and a variety of other dishes.

Wagyu Meat Platter

Wagyu Meat Platter

Ri He Seating

The star of the restaurant is the wagyu beef sukiyaki. For 588 RMB, you can order the 2-person sukiyaki set. This includes thinly sliced beef with various levels of marbling from A2 to A6, pork belly, tofu, vegetables and udon noodles to end the meal. The meat is absolutely incredible. With all the fattiness, it just melts in your mouth. It’s hard not to savor every single bite. Ri He’s sukiyaki sauce is also amazing and I like how it’s not too sweet. Whenever I go to Ri He, I always feel pampered since someone handles all the cooking for me.

Sashimi and Agedashi Tofu

Sashimi and Agedashi Tofu

Normally, I’m wary of eating sashimi in Shanghai, but Ri He’s fish is incredibly fresh and safe to eat. You can ask what the local catch of the day is and they usually always have fatty tuna belly. There are also other small eats like agedashi tofu. Our waiter also recommend their gyoza and beef pancake, which I’ll definitely have to try next time.

The menu is completely in Chinese and Japanese so make sure to bring a friend who can speak and/or read Chinese. At the very least, you can open up online reviews and point to photos. The staff is incredibly patient and friendly so if you do end up struggling a little bit, I’m sure they’ll recommend dishes for you.

Leave a Reply

